Out of bounds with Edmond Laryea

Edmond Laryea

In the wake of the Rutgers football team’s second scrimmage, starting fullback Edmond Laryea made a move to linebacker. Laryea, who came in to Piscataway as a linebacker recruit, has yet to have his future decided between linebacker and fullback, but discussed his temporary move today after practice.

Sam Hellman: How did you react when Coach Schiano asked you to do some linebacker today?

Edmond Laryea: We talked about it earlier and I said I’d be cool with it. I’ve done it before.

SH: When you were out there today, did you just have to re-jog your memory to the old days at linebacker?

EL: A lot of the stuff kind of came back to me pretty quickly. Initially it felt a little different, but for the most part, there are things you never lose really.

SH: How comfortable are you at each position right now?

EL: I’m very comfortable at fullback because I’ve learned a lot in the last year. Linebacker comes naturally because I’ve played it a little bit more, but it’s not a big difference. I don’t really have one that I prefer over the other.

SH: Do you have a preference between fullback or linebacker?

EL: The two positions are pretty similar. In fullback you have to do a few more different things, but with linebacker your eyes have to be more involved. Linebacker is more of a reaction game. It doesn’t really matter to me. I feel like I can do both as long as I get used to doing both and continue to get reps at both.

SH: Coach Schiano said the next few days will probably decide position changes like yours. Will you jockey him for one way or another or do you like the idea of doing a bit of each?

EL: I don’t know yet what he’s going to decide so I don’t want to make any assumptions, but I think, for the most part, I’ll be able to do both. I think of the stuff I’m doing with the linebackers as extra reps, but whatever direction this goes, I’m cool to go with it.

SH: How would you assess your general development through your last training camp at Rutgers?

EL: This is the most confidence I’ve had in a training camp since I’ve been at Rutgers. This is the most healthy I’ve felt. This is the most energized and the most relaxing. It really says something. I don’t have to think too much about the plays or the play calls. I’m just more comfortable this year than I was last year. Most importantly, I feel way better as a player.

SH: How excited are you for a week from Thursday?

EL: I’m psyched. It’s funny because I have so many different feelings going on. I’m ready, but at the same time I want time to slow down a little bit so I can be at a maximum when I get to the game. At the same time, I love football season more than anything and I’m looking forward to it. I really can’t wait to hear the roar of the crowd again.

This entry was posted in Features, Football and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

